Presented by The Kennedy Foundation

Event Details


Royal Randwick


7:00pm Friday 10 Aug 2018 to 2:00am Saturday 11 Aug 2018 (Australia/Sydney)

Closing date

Friday 10 Aug 2018 5:00pm (Australia/Sydney)

  1. Ticket Type Sales Close Price Booking Fee Quantity
    5:00pm, 10 Aug 2018 $40.00 $3.20
    5:00pm, 10 Aug 2018 $220.00 $13.10
    5:00pm, 10 Aug 2018 $2,200.00 $70.00

About this event

The NRMA Kennedy Awards recognises and celebrates the past and present greats of Australian journalism while raising funds and awareness for Australia's media charity - The Kennedy Foundation, supporting colleagues in hardship with compassion in confidence. Since 2012 the Black Tie gala has been staged on or around the anniversary of Les Kennedy's passing in August 2011.

Award Categories

1. Les Kennedy Award - Outstanding Crime Reporting

2. Paul Lockyer Award - Regional Broadcast Reporting

3. Chris Watson Award - Regional Newspaper Reporting

4. Rod Allen Award - NSW Racing Writer of The Year

5. Outstanding Turf Reporting

6. Sean Flannery Award - Outstanding Radio Reporting

7. Outstanding Radio Current Affairs Reporting & Audio Blog

8. Outstanding News Photography

9. Outstanding Portrait

10. Outstanding Sports Photography

11. Outstanding Online Video

12. People's Choice from Power Of The Lens Exhibition

13. Cliff Neville Award - Team Player And Mentor

14. Peter Frilingos Award - Outstanding Sport Reporting

15. Outstanding Travel Writing

16. Young Journalist of The Year

17. Kennedy Award for Lifetime Achievement

18. John Newfong Award - Indigenous Affairs Reporting

19. Gary Ticehurst Award - Outstanding News Camera Coverage

20. Harry Potter Award - Outstanding Television News Reporting

21. Outstanding Television Current Affairs Reporting Long Form

22. Outstanding Nightly Television Current Affairs Reporting

23. Outstanding Finance Reporting

24. Outstanding Court Reporting

25. Outstanding Consumer Affairs Reporting

26. Peter Ruehl Award - Outstanding Columnist

27. Vince O'farrell Award - Outstanding Illustration Or Cartoon

28. Outstanding Online News Breaking

29. Outstanding Reporting on The Environment

30. Rebecca Wilson Award - Scoop of The Year

31. Outstanding Investigative Reporting

32. Jim Oram Award - Outstanding Feature Writing

33. Outstanding Political Reporting

34. Journalist of The Year

Judging Process and Entry Criteria

Three finalists in each category will be selected and the judging committee will choose the winner - recognising exceptional examples of ground breaking, gutsy and creative journalism demonstrating a profound and enduring impact.

Judges will also take into account resources, research, preproduction, preparation, logistical challenges, public interest and community benefit.

Dealing with Conflict of Interest in Judging

The Kennedy Awards strives to avoid the reality or perception of a conflict of interest that emerges in the judging process. The judging committee comprises a selection of respected leaders in Australian journalism.

The Kennedy Awards Committee will monitor any potential for a personal or professional relationship to undermine the independence, fairness and objectivity of the judging process.

Judging the work of entrants from their own media organisation will not necessarily disqualify a judge.

Before the judging process begins each judge will be required to identify any potential conflict of interest and notify the organising committee, and the appropriate changes will be made if necessary.

Finalists will be posted on the Kennedy Awards website at the completion of a function to announce the finalists at The Crown Hotel on the evening of Wednesday, July 25, 2018. Finalists in the photographic awards will be announced at the July 26 launch of The Power of the Lens Exhibition, showcasing the work of all Kennedy Awards entrants.

For details on individual awards category sponsorship opportunities & 2018 Kennedy Sponsorship Packages and contact: STEVE WARNOCK at or on 0424 407717